About the Club

Coastal Union Ground: Mkwakwani Stadium Tanga, Tanzania (Capacity: 10,000)

League: Tanzanian Premier League

Coastal Union is a Tanzanian football club based in Tanga.They play in the top level of Tanzanian professional football, the Tanzanian Premier League. Their home games are played at Mkwakwani Stadium

General information

Tanga City is the home of Coastal Union Sports Club. Coastal Union has been founded in 1948 after a group of school boys from different schools along the coastal area especially Tanga Municipality by then, who came from various street soccer clubs, united and formed one soccer club and named it Coastal Union. Through member’s contribution the club rented a house at street no 11 Ngamiani ward in the then Tanga Municipality and it became the club house. The club was legally registered in the same year and was officially named Coastal Union Sports Club with its official logo bearing a shield and fox. As the club progressed it attracted many fans all over Tanga and the first achievement the club got was buying its own club house situated at the same street no. 11 where it remains the official club house to-date.

Lifted the NARGIS CUP in 1950 after beating Arab Boys in the final, another Tanga soccer club. Arab Boys later united with Coastal Union Football Club.

In Tanga there are several soccer clubs but rival to Coastal Union is African Sports Club once a very powerful club but now trades its .soccer in the lower division. Apart from African Sports, Coastal Union has been challenging major clubs in the country such as Simba Sports Club, Dar Es Salaam Young Africans Sports Club and Cosmopolitan Football Club.

Coastal Union Sports Club was among one of the top clubs in Tanzania to participate in the first major league in the country in 1961 after the country’s independence. Other top clubs that took part in this first major league are:
1. Dar Es Salam Young Africa (Yanga) of Dar es salaam
2. Sunderland (now Simba Sports Club) of Dar es salaam
3. Cosmopolitan Football Club of Dar es salaam
4. African Sports Football Club of Tanga.

In 1982 Coastal Union Sports Club were runner’s up in the Tanzania Major League but we could not participate in the then Africa Cup Winners Cup due to financial problems on the part of the Football Association of Tanzania.

In 1988 Coastal Union Sports Club was crowned Tanzania Champions and hence got a ticket to participate in two major championships,

1. East and Central Club Championship in Kenya.
Results: We beat Nchanga Rangers of Zambia in the quarter final and went on to beat the Kenya champions, Abaluhya FC in the semifinal 6-5 on penalties but we got beaten by Kenya Breweries in the final.

2. African Club Championship.
Results: We were eliminated in the first round by Costa de Sol of Mozambique.

In 2002 Coastal Union was relegated from the Super League to the lower league. After spending almost 5 seasons in the lower league, Coastal Union Sports Club was promoted to the now Premier League in 2007/08 season. Again it was relegated in the same season. During the 2010/2011 season Coastal Union Sports Club gained promotion again to the premier league where it got a ticket to participate in the 2011/2012 season and managed to finish in fifth position.

The year 1961 saw Coastal Union loosing most of its prominent players to the newly formed soccer team from sugar planting company known Tanzania Planting Company (TPC) of Moshi, Northern Tanzania. This team had a mixture of players from all over East African Region and again US players were the backbone of TPC club and these were:

1. Mbwana Abushiri (a.k.a Director)
2. Marshed Seif
3. Shariff Salim
4. John Lyimo
5. Khatibu Mtoto
6. Suwed Abdallah
7. Hemed Seif
8. Sembwana Behewa

Despite of losing its top players all being 1st eleven players, Coastal Union was never shaken by this because it still had a cream of players in the likes of:

1. Habibu Rhemtulah
2. Mohamed Shossi (a.k.a Springet)
3. Mohamed Muslii
4. Awadhi Bafadhil
5. Hassan Mzaramo
who went on to bring more honors to the club by successfully participating in other national competitions and winning the following trophies:

1. HEALTHO CUP (1957)
2. MWAFRIKA CUP (1958)
3. OFUMA CUP (1976)

We were finalist in the

1 1971 BIMA CUP (a competition organized by The National Insurance Corporation), losing 1-0 to Simba Sports Club.

2 1987 Finalist AICC Cup Arusha (an international competition organized by Arusha International Conference Centre).

We lost to Nchanga Rangers of Zambia.

International friendly games.

1979 in Tanga Coastal Union vs Water Corporation FC of Nigeria Results 1-0 (played in Tanga)

Coastal Union was then invited to Nigeria by the Water Corporation Football Club and played 3 friendly games
1. Bendel Insurance vs. Coastal Union Results 4-1 (Bendel were 1979 runner’s up in the Africa Club Championship)
2. Housing Corporation vs Coastal Union 0-1 won
3. Water Corporation 0-0 drew
4. Odo state club 2-1 lost

On our way back we stopped in Ethiopia and played a friendly game against Ethiopia National Team and lost by 2-1.

Invited to Burundi and played one friendly game against Vitalo FC of Burundi 0-0

For the past 5 decades CUSC has been the core club in providing players to the regional and national team where in competition such as Sunlight Cup (Inter Regional Competition later known as Taifa Cup) Gossage Cup (a competition involving East African countries, later renamed East African Challenge Cup) CUSC players were involved.

Players that were frequently selected to the national team for Sunlight and Gossage cups were:
1. Marshed Seif (Deceased)
2. John Lyhimo ( now team Manager under 20 national team)
3. Sharrif Salim (Deceased)
4. Mbwana Abushiri
5. Sembawana Behewa
6. Hemed Seif

The trend of CUSC providing players to the national team continued with such players
1 Kinanda Zakaria (Deceased)
2 Rashidi Moyo (Deceased)
3 Salim Amiri
4 Zaharan Makame
5 Mbwana Mtoto (Deceased)
6 Jalala Mursal
7 Mohamed Salim
8 Mohamed Makunda (Deceased)
9 Godfrey Nguruko
10 Mohamed Muslii
11 Salim Omar
12 Muhaj Alli
13 Saidi George
14 Ali Maumba
15 Hussein Mwakuluzo
16 Douglas Muhani
17 Mohamed Mwameja
18 Yasini Abuu Napili
19 Razaq Yusuph (a.k.a Careca)
20 Rifatih Saidi (Deceased)
21 Yanga Bwanga
22 Jumbe Makata
23 Mohamed Kampira
24 Juma Mgunda (Current assistant coach of CUSC)
25 Abdallah saleh ( sabebe)
Other Facts:

1. Founded in 1948
2. Home colours Red and White
3. Nick name: WAGOSI WA KAYA (meaning Home boys)
4. Current club residence: Street no. 11 Ngamiani ward, Tanga City
5. Team’s current coach Juma Mgunda
6. Current captain Said Sued
7. Current Chairman: Hemed Hilal a.k.a Aurora
8. Current league standing 5th position

Passed Chairmen
1 Mzee Mbwana Malau (deseased)
2 Peter Feer (deseased)
3 Hans Leopard (deseased)
4 Mzee Abuu Bakary (deseased)
5 Mzee Mjahidi (deseased)
6 Mzee Abubakar Athuman Chande (deseased)